Rising Star Award

The Rising Star Award, initially presented in 2011, is designed to identify and nurture new individuals to the profession and RMACAC. Colleagues with less than five years of admission experience, and who have already made contributions to our organization, its members and the populations we serve, are deserving of this honor. It is our hope that award recipients will be encouraged to continue their professional development through their involvement in RMACAC and NACAC. Winners of this regional award will receive consideration for the national Rising Star Award from NACAC.

Congratulations to the 2024 Rising Star Recipient!

DaMonta Madden

The University of Colorado, Boulder | Boulder, CO


Past Recipients

2023 | Angelica Lopez-Rodriguez, Bruce Randolph High School and Denver Scholarship Foundation, CO

2022 | Xvania Esquivel, The University of Arizona

2021 | Jennifer Sheldon, Arapahoe Community College, CO

2019 | Guila Curley, Newcomb High School, NM

2018 | Andrea Pischnotte, Westminster College, UT 

2017 | NaTasha Henry, Arizona State University, AZ

2016 | Rebecca Cohen, Baboquivari High School, AZ

2015Sam Ritter, Breakthrough Santa Fe, NM & Darah Tabrum, Kirtland Central High School, NM

2014 | Jonathan Goode, Colorado State University, CO

2013Jennifer Van Bark, Arizona State University, AZ

2012Priscilla Gardea, Adams State University, CO

2011Nick Peterson, Fossil Ridge High School, CO